though it doesn’t feel like summer…

I wanted to post some beach-related photos that I found – not in the garbage, but under my old bed at my parent’s house in NJ.

oldbeach

“Edward [Halligan]’s wife Helen & son”

The actual size of this photo is so small, that I initially thought it was a rifle on the baby’s lap.  Nope – it’s a little acoustic guitar instead.  I would’ve preferred the rifle, but the photo is still great.  There is something brilliant about the tradition of discreetly placing random items in baby’s laps, then taking a photo of them – everyone has one of those that they can thank their parents for.

ritaphotos_0003

“Mabel & Bella on log, Front Row: Edward Halligan, Rita and Joseph McDermott”

ritaphotos_0002

“Bella with Edward, Mabel with Rita”

ritaphotos_0001

“Mabel & Joseph McDermott, Bella Halligan, Edward Halligan, and Rita McDermott”

The actual dimensions of this photo are probably something like 1″x 1.5″ — smaller than the wallet sized school photos — so I’m glad to see that the quality is there after scanning and enlarging.  The woman all the way to the right, with the bathing cap on, is my great-grandmother Bella.  Looking at this photo, I realize that my mom really resembles her… same eyes, same nose, same mouth… same Irish stoicism!

ritaphotos

Labeled “Rita, extreme right in tree.”  This is a great group shot — any family members reading this recognize the others?

The following photo is great, but it’s the caption on the back that really makes it…

oldbeach_00010

oldbeach_0006

“This is what happens to people after they indulge in a quarter of ale from Andre’s.  June, 1934”

oldbeach_0009

Bella looking sassy with her hand on her hip.

oldbeach_0008This is one of the oldest photos I found.  Taken in Atlantic City, April 16, 1916.  The back of it has a stamp from a photo lab in Hoboken, NJ.

I really love this one – the blurry image of the little boy against the sea is really haunting and beautiful.

oldbeach_0005

No labels on this one…

oldbeach_0004

I like the way everyone is arranged in this photo, well proportioned, and the two old shops in the background.

oldbeach_0003“Annie, Bella, Jimmy, Eddie G, Marge, Edward”

oldbeach_0002

Jimmy Halligan, my great-grandfather, and Eddie G.

Looks like this was taken on Barley Point, but I can’t be sure..

oldbeach_0001

No label on this one.

oldbeach7

One last group shot.

S

1 Comment

Filed under timeless

One response to “though it doesn’t feel like summer…

  1. Deborah Halligan McBurney

    I can’t believe I stumbled onto your blog/site. I am Bella and Jimmy’s first great-grand child. My grandfather was Edward, their first born. I was always confused by my relatives connection to me since there was a 16 year difference between the birth of my grandfather and Harold; and only a few years between the birth of your grandfather and my father Edward aka “Ned”. I would just love to talk to you about our great-grand parents!! Connect with me on FaceBook – Deborah Halligan McBurney.

Leave a Reply

