what did the deep sea say?

My grandfather won the Bahr’s shark tournament by catching an enormous hammerhead shark on July 8, 1984 – the day I was born.  If it had been a Mako shark my mom would have named me after it.  Instead, I acquired the nickname ‘Hammerhead’ among my family, and my mom decided to name me after a Fleetwood Mac song.

Here are some boating-related photos I dug up.  The first few taken in the Bimini Islands, the rest were taken in or near Monmouth County, NJ.

boating_00011

Flying into Bimini.

boating_00021

That belt.

boating_0003

Red Snapper.

boating_0005

Captain’s chair.

boating_0006

Hammerhead – but not the one I’m named after.

boating_0004

Just some casual shark hunting.

njboating

The Sea Bright bridge, NJ.  The Bait/Tackle shop is a Dunkin’ Donuts now.

njboating_0005

Jimmy and John Hal.

njboating_0007

Atlantic Highlands Marina.

njboating_0008

Barak – Rumson, NJ.  John’s get-up IS the late 70s.  Hope I don’t get in trouble for this one.

njboating_0006

Photo op in front of 33 Center St.  The Pine tree is long gone.

njboating_0009You can just tell the weather was perfect that day.

njboating_0003

BARAK II, the second Bertram.

njboating_0004

Side view.

njboating_0010

Hammerhead.  Raising hell on the Bertram at a young age.

njboating_0011

Another top 10 photo.

Leave a comment

Filed under timeless

Leave a Reply

